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A. General
A.1- What is this document?

This document is a supplement to the competition scope that answers
specific questions teams may have about ambiguities in the scope. This
document supersedes the current version of the scope found on
www.skillsontario.ca.

A.2 — What is the Mail list?

The mail list is the fastest wat to receive information about the
competition. It is recommended that at least 1 team member or coach
should be receiving email updates. Email dan.kurz@dsb1.ca to be added
to the mail list.

B. The Court
B.1- Is there a piece ‘G’ in the court construction?
No.

B.2- The height of the dispenser is 2.5” off the floor, but the balls are 2
5/8”... is this intentional?

Yes. The balls will need some force to be removed from the dispenser.

C. Game Play
C.1-Can a robot manipulate the balls without using a stick?

Robots may use a secondary system for getting the balls from the
dispensers or moving them into a shooting position. Balls may not be shot
with anything other than the stick.
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C.2 — What happens if a ball rolls onto the opposing defensive zone
without being shot from a stick?

This case will fall into rule 5.8.d. Teams will be given a warning and will be
disqualified from the match if it continues.

C.3 — Do a team’s balls that remain on their side of the court count
towards the opposing team’s score?

No. A team only receives points for their balls. Each team’s balls will be a
different colour.

C.4 - Can any part of a team’s entry expand such that it blocks off large
portions of the court?

No. A robot may not exceed 24” in any dimension at time during the game.
Note: This will be updated in the scope as well.

C.5- Can a robot handle multiple balls before shooting them with the
blade?
Yes.

C.6- Can a robot shoot more than one ball at a time with the blade?
Yes.

C.7 - Can a mechanism, other than the blade, be used to shoot the
ball off of the blade?
No. All of a ball’s kinetic energy must come from the blade when shooting.

C.8 - What does "Dropping a piece off of a robot" mean?

At no time is a robot permitted to intentionally drop pieces off of their
robot. This includes autonomous robots, and also includes parts of the
robot. Included here are parts of the robot that remain somehow attached
but are no longer fully supported by the robot’s structure. For example:



Dropping one “anchor” for the end of a net, and driving the other end
around while still attached to the robot, is not permitted.

C.8 — Can you shoot an opponent’s ball back to their side?
Yes. As long as it is not in a net.

. Robot Design

D.1- Can a blade be attached from behind?
Yes. Aslong as any parts of the blade making contact with the ball for the
purpose of shooting remain free of protrusions.

D.2 — Can teams make their own blades?
Yes. Refer to section 5.9 in the scope for blade specifications.

D.3- Can a blade be metal?
No. Blades must be plastic. (5.9.a.a)

D.4- Is there a limit to how the blade can be modified?

Refer to section 5.9 in the scope. If you have a specific idea that you think
may be questionable, send a sketch and description to the tech chairs for
approval. dan.kurz@dsb1.ca

D.5- If the handle (the stick part of the hockey stick) is still attached to the
blade, does the handle count towards the overall volume?

Yes. The only part of a team’s entry that would not be counted towards the
overall volume is the blade. See figure 10 in section 5.9 for instructions on
how the blade is measured.

D.6- Can a team have additional robots that fit into the overall size
volume and then choose which ones to use during a game?

No. A team’s entire entry may consist of a maximum of two tele-op bots and one autonomous
bot.
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